SAA Vice-President/President-Elect Election Candidate Questionnaire: Derek T. Mosley

Derek T. Mosely is the Archives Division Manager, Auburn Avenue Research Library on African American Culture and History in Georgia . Below you will find his responses to SAA SNAP’s questionnaire for the candidate for the general SAA Vice-President/President-Elect. We thank Derek for his time and effort in answering these questions. You can find his general election page here.

  1. Could you tell us how you came to archives as a profession and what were some resources/organizations that helped you as a student/new professional? 

I first learned about archives in my undergraduate years.  I went to Morehouse College in Atlanta and my library had an internship program to recruit and expose students to the library profession.  I was accepted and because I was a history major, I was assigned to the archives.  The biggest resource as a graduate student was my student chapter of SAA and as a new professional the Archivists and Archives of Color section of SAA.

  1. What do you see as the role for SNAP members in SAA and its programs, and how can it grow? 

SNAP always brings the energy and has fresh ideas.  I love that SNAP is always looking forward and I know that SAA is better because of the members.  I think it is a great way for new members to get involved and hopefully find other sections, working groups and avenues to participate in SAA.  SNAP always has space for people and I think as long as the leaders continue to be great stewards the group will continually grow.

  1. What is your advice to SNAP members who are about to be or are newly a part of the field?

I would like to encourage SNAP members to explore all the great archival organizations.  Of course, SAA is a great organization there are a number of other groups to consider. The state and regional archival associations are great places to learn and meet colleagues that are closer to where you reside. There are so many ways to get involved and it makes the profession better.

  1. (Question submitted by a SNAP Member): “I am a student who has not previously worked in the field. As I look for jobs, I see many entry level positions that list a requirement of 3-5 years of experience. What do you think SAA can do as a professional organization to help people new to the field gain experience and have opportunities to work in archives?”

SAA can work harder with the Career Center to guide institutions that are posting jobs that 3-5 years experience is not an entry level opening.  In the same way that a few years ago the SAA Council mandated that all jobs have at least a salary range, it is time to look at how positions are classified and we should work toward eliminating barriers to archivists finding employment.

  1. Within SAA, there are many different groups and audiences that you are working with. Could you please share an example of a time when you were required to lead others by example; and another time where you led others by consensus building.

In my current job I am currently working on some grant projects and I have found it takes lots of consensus building in order to write then grant then even more if it is funded.  There are so many opinions and you have to make sure that every member is heard and there is at least some agreement. 

  1. What is a goal for you personally and organizationally if you are elected to this position?

I have two main goals.  One is to expand mentorship opportunities and create a pathway for SAA members to have mentors throughout their career.  The other is to work on the membership dues structure. I think both goals are very important for the sustainability of the organization.  Members should feel supported throughout their career and the dues that we pay should be to a level that everyone can afford to participate. 

Leave a comment