Meet your SNAP leaders: Steering Committee Member

Name: Jeremy Floyd
SNAP Participation: Steering Committee Member
Position: Archivist
Institution: Texas A&M University –  Commerce
Years at Position: 1.5
Education: BA University of Nevada, Reno, MLS Indiana University

I work in a small university archives and special collections department which consists of myself, a digital collections librarian, the head of special collections, one full and one part time cataloging assistants and an administrative assistant. Our collections are primarily university related or have some connection the to the Northeast Texas region.  Because we are a small staff I’m involved in everything from working with donors and retrieving collections to answering reference questions and helping researchers in the reading room, but most of my time is spent processing collections.  One project that I helped to initiate this year is to partner with the Internet Archive and Archive It to preserve our university websites and social media. This is my first professional position in archives and I absolutely love my job. When I’m not in the archive, I love science fiction books and movies, going hiking, and hunting for a thrift store bargain.

My involvement in SNAP is my first foray into actively engaging with a SAA roundtable, and I’ve found that the whole steering committee is incredibly enthusiastic, open, and welcoming to new ideas.  If there’s a project you’d like to take on, an opinion you’d like to express, or want to pitch in and become more involved, don’t hesitate to speak up. And if you want to talk archives, nerd out with sci/fi trivia, or swap thifting stories send me an email or follow me on twitter @jjamesfloyd.

This entry was posted in Introductions and tagged , on by .

About Lisa H

Lisa is the archivist/librarian at the Swenson Swedish Immigration Research Center at Augustana College. She stumbled into archival work by way of the museum world and is always seeking ways to break down the silos of these professions. Lisa has worked in museums, libraries, and archives in Illinois, New York, and Alaska. While not at work, Lisa spends her free time biking, working on art projects, and putting her useless knowledge to good use on bar trivia teams. You can find her on Twitter @lisahuntsha.

Leave a Reply

